Fans are tweeting images of Cameron Green’s Controversial Catch from different angles and labeling it “cheating,” indicating their displeasure with the third umpire’s choice.
In the WTC 2023 final at the Oval, India needed a strong start to their massive chase against Australia, and Shubman Gill was caught in the slip cordon thanks to a superb catch from Cameron Green. Green made an extremely poor one-handed catch, and the third umpire was consulted before declaring him out. It appeared that he caught it on the bounce from a certain angle. Twitter users expressed their displeasure about the firing and even referred to it as “cheating.”
Cameron Green Claims Controversial Catch to Dismiss Shubman Gill
India needed a solid start to their huge chase against Australia in the WTC 2023 final at the Oval, and Shubman Gill was caught in the slip cordon thanks to a brilliant catch from Cameron Green. Green made an incredibly poor one-handed catch, prompting the third umpire to rule him out. He appeared to have caught it on the bounce from a certain angle. Twitter users expressed their disgust with the firing, even calling it “cheating.”
Unlucky Shubman Gill.— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) June 10, 2023
It should've been Not Out. pic.twitter.com/CSxFzB1xc0